Latest Trending News

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik lose from Kantabanji, wins Hinjili Seat

Bhubaneswar: For the first time Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik suffered an electoral defeat. Since 1998 he has won every election. On Tuesday he lost from the Kantabani Constituency to Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) candidate Laxman Bag.

However, he won from the Hinjili legislative constituency defeating Sisir Kumar Mishra of the BJP.

After ruling Odisha for 24 years, Biju Janata Dal experienced a defeat as Bhartya Janata Party won the Odisha Assembly elections with a good majority. If BJD had won this election, Naveen Patnaik could have become the longest-serving chief minister.

Naveen Patnaik first won from Aska constituency in 1998. He again from the same seat in 1999.

During his reign, he had taken some exceptional steps making him one of the popular chief minister in the country.

Comments are closed.