Latest Trending News

11 Cities from Odisha wins national awards in Swachh Survekshan & Indian Swachhata League

Bhubaneswar: Eleven cities from Odisha have bagged national awards in the Swachh Survekshan- 2022 and Indian Swachhata League.

Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation, Berhampur Municipal Corporation, Puri Municipality, Paradeep Municipality, Bargarh Municipality, Basudevpur Municipality, Bellaguntha NAC, Bijepur NAC, Binika NAC, Chikiti NAC, Junagarh NAC are the 11 ULBs of Odisha that bagged the Swachh Survekshan 2022  award with a total score of 7500 marks on different parameters.

While Cuttack city and Pipli ULB received National Awards in the Indian Swacchata League 2022.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated the 13 award-winning cities and the Housing and Urban Development Department for the impressive performance in the Swachha Survekshan 2022 & Indian Swachhata League and expressed happiness over the efforts of the cities in achieving the goal of ‘Swachha Odisha Sustha Odisha’.

Solid and liquid waste management and Sanitation in Urban Odisha have witnessed a transformation and revolution across Odisha. Micro Composting Centres (MCCs) and Material Recovery Facilities (MRFs) together called Wealth Centres for management of wet and dry waste respectively have given a fillip to the entire Solid Waste Management (SWM) value chain.

Similarly, the establishment of Septage Treatment Plants (SeTPs) across all the 115 ULBs in the State has been helping in the prevention of water and environmental pollution in the cities of Odisha.

The decentralised, community-driven solid and liquid waste management model with low capital and operational cost engaging Mission Shakti SHGs, transgender groups, and Swachh Karmis has now emerged as a sustainable sanitation model in the Country.

Comments are closed.