Latest Trending News

Odisha Police Ensure Robust Security for Final Phase of Polling

Bhubaneswar: With the fourth and final phase of polling in Odisha set for June 1 (Saturday), the Odisha Police have implemented extensive security measures to ensure a smooth and peaceful voting process.

In this phase, six Parliamentary constituencies—Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, and Jagatsinghpur—and 42 Assembly constituencies will head to the polls.

Odisha DGP Arun Kumar Sarangi announced that a formidable security deployment of 36,000 police personnel will be in place for the fourth phase of voting. This includes 126 companies of the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF), 86 platoons of the Special Armed Police force of Odisha Police, and 843 mobile parties.

With a total of 10,882 polling stations across the six Lok Sabha constituencies, approximately 21 percent have been designated as “sensitive booths.” To bolster security and ensure vigilance, the Odisha Police have also mobilized 255 Flying Squad Teams and 255 Static Surveillance Teams to monitor and prevent any incidents of violence or illegal activities during the polling process.

The intensive campaign for this final phase concluded on Thursday evening, setting the stage for 99,61,057 voters—including 50.88 lakh men and 48.72 lakh women—to cast their votes.

A total of 460 candidates are competing in this phase, with 66 vying for Parliamentary seats and 394 for Assembly seats. To facilitate the smooth conduct of polling, over 72,000 polling personnel have been deployed.

Comments are closed.