Latest Trending News

Nomination Process for Second Phase of Elections Commences in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The nomination process for the second phase of elections in Odisha is set to begin on Friday, marking another crucial phase in the state’s electoral journey. Scheduled for May 20, this phase will witness polling across five Lok Sabha constituencies and 35 Assembly seats in the state.

The Lok Sabha constituencies where polling will be held on May 20 include Bargarh, Bolangir, Sundargarh, Kandhamal, and Aska. Simultaneously, voters in these constituencies will also cast their ballots for 35 Assembly seats.

Candidates interested in contesting in the second phase of polls have until May 3 to file their nomination papers. The scrutiny of these nomination papers will be conducted on May 4, following which the last date for withdrawal of nomination forms is set for May 6.

The conclusion of the nomination process for the first phase of polls in the state took place on April 25. As per the Election Commission of India (ECI) notification issued earlier, the first phase polls in Odisha are slated for a total of four Lok Sabha constituencies – Kalahandi, Berhampur, Koraput, and Nabarangpur – along with 28 Assembly seats.

Comments are closed.