Latest Trending News
Election Commission Issues Advisory to Elevate Political Campaign Discourse

Nomination Process Concludes for First Phase Elections in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The nomination process for the first phase of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Odisha concluded yesterday, marking a significant step in the electoral process. A total of 75 nominations have been filed for the four Lok Sabha constituencies in the state.

Among the Lok Sabha constituencies, Kalahandi witnessed the highest number of nominations with 20 candidates submitting their nomination papers. Following closely behind, 21 candidates filed their nomination papers for the Koraput Lok Sabha seat, while 24 candidates submitted papers for the Berhampur Lok Sabha seat. Nabarangpur Parliamentary Constituency saw a total of 10 candidates filing nomination papers.

For the 28 Assembly seats that will go for elections in the first phase, a total of 483 nomination papers have been submitted. Berhampur constituency recorded the highest number of nominations, with 30 candidates filing their papers. Similarly, Digapahandi saw 26 candidates filing nominations, while 23 candidates submitted papers for Chitrakonda and 22 for Rayagada Constituency.

The verification of the nomination papers is scheduled to take place today, with April 29th set as the last date for the withdrawal of candidature. The first phase of voting is scheduled to be held in Odisha on May 13th, marking the beginning of the electoral process in the state.

Comments are closed.