Latest Trending News

Indian Men’s Rugby Team Set for Debut at Asia Rugby Men’s 15s Championship Division -1

Mumbai: The Indian Men’s 15s Rugby team is gearing up for a historic moment as they prepare to make their debut appearance at the Asia Rugby Men’s 15s Championship Division -1. This marks a significant milestone in their journey, bringing them one step closer to competing at the highest level in Asia, the Asia Rugby 15s Championship.

Led by seasoned campaigner Deepak Punia, with Hitesh Dagar as his deputy, the Indian team is poised to face off against Sri Lanka in their inaugural match on April 30. This momentous occasion is the culmination of relentless dedication and perseverance by the players and coaching staff.

The road to Division -1 has been paved with determination and resilience, with India now vying for a spot in the prestigious Asia Rugby 15s Championship. The competition in Division -1 will be fierce, with Qatar and Kazakhstan also vying for a chance to advance to the finals.

Notably, this campaign sees five players making their debut for the Indian team. Vallabh Patil, Shakti Nag, Abhishek Shukla, Joginder, and Ajit Hansdah bring a blend of talent and mental strength to the squad, underlining the depth and potential of India’s rugby talent pool.

The winners of the Asia Rugby Men’s 15s Championship Division -1 will secure a coveted spot in the Asia Rugby 15s Championship, where they will face off against higher-ranked countries such as Korea, Hong Kong China, and Malaysia, showcasing their skills on the international stage.

The squad, comprising a mix of experienced players and promising newcomers, is ready to embrace the challenge and make their mark in the realm of Asian rugby.

Indian Men’s Rugby Team Squad:

Deepak Kumar Punia (C)
Hitesh Dagar (VC)
Sanket Patil
Vallabh Patil
Suraj Prasad
Harvinder Singh
Javed Hussain
Shivam Shukla
Bhupendra Bokar
Mohit Khatri
Prince Khatri
Bharat Dagar
Pradeep Tanwar
Abhishek Shukla
Prabal Giri
Sukumar Hembrom
Rajdeep Saha
Shakti Nag
Asis Sabar
Ajit Hansdah
Devendra Padir
Bhupinder Singh
Suresh Kumar

Comments are closed.