Latest Trending News
India and Pakistan to Clash in Group A of 2024 Women's Asia Cup T20

India and Pakistan to Clash in Group A of 2024 Women’s Asia Cup T20

Dambulla:  The stage is set for another exhilarating showdown as India and Pakistan are poised to renew their cricketing rivalry in the upcoming 2024 Women’s Asia Cup T20. The tournament, scheduled to be held in Dambulla, Sri Lanka, from July 19 to 28, promises a thrilling spectacle for cricket enthusiasts across the globe.

In a much-anticipated grouping, India and Pakistan have been placed together in Group A, ensuring a high-octane clash on July 21. The Women’s Asia Cup T20, a prestigious event in the cricketing calendar, will witness eight teams vying for supremacy, including the likes of defending champions Bangladesh, hosts Sri Lanka, Nepal, Thailand, Malaysia, and UAE.

Unlike the previous edition held in Bangladesh in 2022, where seven teams battled it out in a round-robin format, this year’s tournament features an expanded lineup with the inclusion of an eighth team. The format change adds a fresh dimension to the competition, promising more excitement and fierce competition among the participating nations.

The tournament kicks off on July 19 with India taking on Nepal and Pakistan facing off against UAE. Meanwhile, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, and Thailand will battle it out in Group B, ensuring an intense competition from the onset.

With the top two teams from each group advancing to the semifinals on July 26, the tournament is expected to witness nail-biting encounters as teams vie for a spot in the ultimate showdown scheduled for July 28.

However, the tournament schedule presents a dilemma for some players as it coincides with the commencement of The Hundred 2024 on July 23. Notably, star players like India’s Smriti Mandhana and Richa Ghosh, along with Sri Lankan skipper Chamari Athapaththu, may find themselves juggling commitments between the two tournaments.

The clash between India and Pakistan on July 21 is undoubtedly the highlight of the group stage fixtures, promising fans an enthralling display of cricketing prowess and national pride.


July 19: Pakistan vs Nepal & India vs UAE

July 20: Malaysia vs Thailand & Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

July 21: Nepal vs UAE & India vs Pakistan

July 22: Sri Lanka vs Malaysia & Bangladesh vs Thailand

July 23, Pakistan vs UAE & India vs Nepal

July 24, Bangladesh vs Malaysia & Sri Lanka vs Thailand

July 26: Group A1 vs Group B2 & Group B1 vs Group A2

July 28: Final

Comments are closed.