Latest Trending News

Election Commission Announces Lok Sabha Elections with Over 97 Crore Eligible Voters

New Delhi: Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar announced the commencement of the Lok Sabha elections, revealing that over 97 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise across the nation. Addressing a press conference, Kumar emphasized the significance of the electoral process, urging every eligible citizen to “get inked” and participate in this historic opportunity.

With the aim of facilitating the electoral process, the Election Commission is gearing up to establish 10.5 lakh polling stations across the country. Kumar assured the public of the Commission’s readiness to conduct the elections in a manner that upholds the principles of democracy and contributes to India’s stature on the global stage.

Accompanied by newly appointed Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, the Chief Election Commissioner underscored the Commission’s commitment to ensuring a memorable, independent, and impartial electoral process. Kumar highlighted the extensive preparations undertaken, including the assessment of all states, to guarantee smooth and efficient polling procedures.

Revealing key statistics, Kumar informed that there are 97 crore registered voters, with over 10.5 lakh polling stations staffed by 1.5 crore personnel and equipped with 55 lakh EVMs (Electronic Voting Machines). He also emphasized the significant participation of first-time voters, totaling 1.82 crore.

Highlighting the Commission’s track record, Kumar noted that the last 11 state elections were conducted peacefully, with minimal incidents of violence and near-zero re-polls, reflecting the Commission’s commitment to ensuring the integrity of the electoral process.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the electoral exercise spanned seven phases, with a total of 91.2 crore eligible voters. The voter turnout stood at 67.4 per cent, with approximately 61.5 crore votes cast.

As the nation prepares for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the Election Commission remains dedicated to conducting free, fair, and transparent elections, fostering the spirit of democracy and civic participation among the citizens of India.

Comments are closed.