Latest Trending News

Bhartruhari Mahtab Appointed Pro-Tem Speaker of Lok Sabha

Bhubaneswar: Seven-term Member of Parliament (MP) from Odisha’s Cuttack Parliamentary seat, Bhartruhari Mahtab, was appointed as the pro tem Speaker of the Lok Sabha on Thursday by President Droupadi Murmu. The announcement was made by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju.

“President is pleased to appoint Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab, Member, Lok Sabha as Speaker Protem under Article 95(1) of the Constitution to perform the duties of Speaker till the election of the Speaker,” Rijiju posted on social media platform X.

Additionally, the President appointed several other Members of Parliament under Article 99 of the Constitution to assist the Speaker Protem in administering the oath/affirmation to the newly elected members of the 18th Lok Sabha. These members include Suresh Kodikunnil, Thalikkottai Rajuthevar Baalu, Radha Mohan Singh, Faggan Singh Kulaste, and Sudip Bandyopadhyay.

Mahtab, a seasoned politician, recently switched from the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha is set to commence on June 24, with newly elected members scheduled to take their oaths on June 24-25. The election for the Speaker of the Lok Sabha is planned for June 26.

Comments are closed.