Latest Trending News

All set for First Phase Elections in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: With the first phase of elections in Odisha slated for tomorrow, preparations are in their final stages, ensuring a smooth and efficient polling process across the state.

Four Lok Sabha constituencies and 28 Assembly constituencies are set to go to the polls in Odisha. The Lok Sabha constituencies include Berhampur, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, and Koraput, while the Assembly constituencies fall under these Lok Sabha segments.

All necessary arrangements have been made, with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), Voter Verified Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs), and other polling materials dispatched to the respective polling booths well in advance.

Campaigning for the first phase of polls concluded on Saturday, paving the way for voters to make their choices on Monday. According to the Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha, a total of 62,87,000 voters will exercise their franchise at 7,303 polling centers in the first phase of twin elections in the state.

In this phase, 37 candidates will vie for 4 Lok Sabha seats, while 243 candidates are in the fray for the 28 Assembly constituencies. Notably, webcasting will be implemented in 60 percent of the booths to ensure transparency and accountability.

Female voters outnumber male voters in this phase, with 30,97,527 male voters, 31,89,060 female voters, and 635 third-gender voters. Additionally, fourteen additional polling stations have been kept ready to address any immediate voting issues, while 1,264 booths have been identified as sensitive.

In a move toward inclusivity, 715 polling centers will be managed solely by women polling staff. The voter demographics also reflect youth participation, with 1,75,134 first-time voters aged between 18-19 years and 14,68,504 young voters aged between 20-29 years.

Comments are closed.