Latest Trending News
President Appoints Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu as New Election Commissioners

35 Nominations Filed for First Phase of Elections in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In Odisha, 35 nominations have been filed by candidates since the issuance of notification for the first phase of simultaneous elections in the state.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) released the notification on April 18, marking the commencement of the electoral process for the first phase of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Odisha.

In the initial three days following the notification, candidates from various political parties have submitted a total of 35 nominations, comprising 27 nominations for Assembly seats and eight nominations for Lok Sabha seats.

With voting scheduled for May 13, 2024, candidates have until April 25 to file their nominations. The verification of nominations will conclude by April 26, and the deadline for withdrawal of nominations is April 29, 2024.

The upcoming polls will cover four Lok Sabha seats and 28 assembly seats in the state. The parliamentary constituencies slated for elections on May 13 include Berhampur, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, and Koraput.

Additionally, voting will take place on May 13 across all 28 assembly constituencies falling under these Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha. These assembly constituencies encompass a diverse range of areas including Berhampur, Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Chikiti, Mohana, Dagpahandi, Parlakhemundi, Nuapada, Khariar, Lanjigarh, Junagadh, Dharmagarh, Bhawanipatna, Narla, Gunupur, Bisam Cuttack, Rayagada, Laxmipur, Jaipur, Koraput, Pottangi, Umerkote, Jharigaon, Nabarangpur, Dabugaon, Kotpad, Chittarakonda, and Malkangiri.

Comments are closed.