Latest Trending News
WPL 2024 Standouts Asha Sobhana and Sajana Sajeevan Earn Maiden India T20I Call-ups

WPL 2024 Standouts Asha Sobhana and Sajana Sajeevan Earn Maiden India T20I Call-ups

Mumbai:  Ahead of the upcoming five-match tour of Bangladesh, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has unveiled the much-anticipated 16-member women squad, featuring the exciting talents of Asha Sobhana and Sajana Sajeevan for their maiden India T20I call-ups.

The inclusion of Sobhana and Sajeevan in the squad comes as a reward for their exceptional performances in the recently concluded Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024. Asha Sobhana emerged as the second-highest wicket-taker with an impressive tally of 12 wickets, showcasing her prowess with the ball. Notably, she played a crucial role for the champions Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), standing out as the team’s second-best bowler behind Purple Cap winner Shreyanka Patil.

On the other hand, Sajana Sajeevan made headlines with her electrifying debut for Mumbai Indians in the WPL, where she grabbed attention by smashing a first-ball six to secure a thrilling victory on the opening night against eventual finalists Delhi Capitals.

However, the squad announcement also brought disappointment for some as Jemimah Rodrigues, who dazzled with her performances for Delhi Capitals, has been sidelined due to a back injury. Rodrigues, who aggregated an impressive 235 runs for the runners-up, is currently undergoing rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy (NCA).

In a bid to strengthen the squad, D Hemalatha and Radha Yadav make their much-awaited comebacks. Hemalatha, a formidable batter from Railways, last represented India in the 2022 Asia Cup final in Bangladesh. Meanwhile, Radha Yadav returns to the squad after being on the sidelines since India’s semi-final exit at the 202 T20 World Cup in South Africa.

The squad rejig also sees the exclusion of Minnu Mani and Mannat Kashyap, who were part of the team’s last T20I assignment against Australia earlier in the year.

The upcoming five-match T20I series against Bangladesh holds immense significance for India as they gear up for the forthcoming T20 World Cup scheduled to be held in September-October. The series, commencing on April 28, will witness high-octane clashes with the final game slated for May 9. Notably, all matches except the third and fourth T20Is will be played under lights in Sylhet.

The squad, led by Harmanpreet Kaur with Smriti Mandhana as vice-captain, boasts a perfect blend of experience and youth, aiming to make a strong statement in the series and lay down a marker for the upcoming global event.

India’s Squad for Bangladesh Tour:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Sajana Sajeevan, Richa Ghosh (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Radha Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Amanjot Kaur, Shreyanka Patil, Saika Ishaque, Asha Sobhana, Renuka Singh Thakur, and Titas Sadhu.

(Source: Cricbuzz)

Comments are closed.