Latest Trending News

Special Session of 18th Lok Sabha to Begin on June 24

New Delhi: The first special session of the 18th Lok Sabha is set to commence on June 24 and is expected to conclude on July 3. The session will begin with the oath-taking ceremony of newly elected Members of Parliament, scheduled for June 24 and 25.

Following the two-day oath-taking, the election for the new Speaker of the Lok Sabha will take place on June 26. The next day, President Droupadi Murmu will address a joint session of both the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, officially inaugurating the session. This special session will span eight days.

During the session, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will introduce his Council of Ministers to both Houses of Parliament.

President Murmu dissolved the 17th Lok Sabha on June 5, acting on the advice of the Union Cabinet. Subsequently, she appointed Narendra Modi as the prime minister-designate after BJP President J P Nadda presented her with a letter confirming Modi’s election as the leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party. NDA leaders also submitted letters of support.

In the recent Lok Sabha elections, the BJP secured 240 seats, falling short of the 272 needed for an outright majority in the 543-member House. However, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) collectively won 293 seats, ensuring a comfortable majority.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.