Latest Trending News

Republic Day Honours: Odisha Police Personnel to receive President’s Medal for Gallantry and Service

Bhubaneswar: The Union Government has chosen 33 police personnel from Odisha for prestigious Gallantry and Service medals on the occasion of Republic Day 2024. The Government has undertaken steps to rationalize and transform the award system, merging sixteen Gallantry and Service Medals into four categories: President’s Medal for Gallantry (PMG), Medal for Gallantry (GM), President’s Medal for Distinguished Service (PSM), and Medal for Meritorious Service (MSM).

On the 75th Republic Day, a total of 1132 personnel from Police, Fire Service, Home Guard & Civil Defence, and Correctional Service will be honored. Among the 277 Gallantry Awards, personnel from Left Wing Extremism affected areas, Jammu & Kashmir, and other regions are being recognized for their gallant actions.

From Odisha, 15 personnel are receiving Gallantry Medals, with 275 GM awarded in total. Notably, two PMG have been awarded to BSF personnel for their outstanding contribution to peacekeeping in the United Nations Organization Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Among the awardees, 72 personnel are from J&K Police, 18 from Maharashtra, 26 from Chhattisgarh, and others.

List of Odisha awardees for Medal for Gallantry (GM):

Arun Kumar Bhue – SI
Motiram Sahoo – Hav
Prakash Majhi – Commando
Niranjan Sahu – Commando
Jadumani Bhue – Commando
Umesh Seth – Commando
Bubun Kumbhar – Commando
Sanjaya Kumar Guru – Commando
Biswajit Das – Commando
Laxman Nayak – Constable
Satya Odi – Constable
Kana Beti – Constable
Ramakanta Sahu – SI
Satyabadi Bhui – CT
Suraj Kumar Sahu – CT
List of Odisha awardees for President’s Medal for Distinguished Service (PSM):

Dr. Santosh Bala, Special Secretary to Home Department, Odisha Government.
Smt. Sanjukta Pattnaik, Constable, Odisha.
Medal for Meritorious Service (MSM) awardees from Odisha:

Police Service:

Satyabrata Bhoi, Inspector General of Police, Odisha.
Sarada Prasanna Pradhan, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Odisha.
Pradip Kumar Samal, Deputy Superintendent of Police (Deployed), Odisha.
Prasanta Kumar Sahoo, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Odisha.
Rasmi Ranjan Mohapatra, Inspector, Odisha.
Rajat Kerketta, Deputy Commandant, Odisha.
Dillip Kumar Naik, Driver Havildar, Odisha.
Bijay Kumar Pradhan, Assistant Sub Inspector of Police, Odisha.
Banamali Ray, Sepoy, Odisha.
Nam Bahadur Chhetry, Sepoy, Odisha.
Arati Sahu, Constable, Odisha.
Fire Service:

Rajendra Kumar Swain, Leading Fireman, Odisha.
Tarakanta Mahapatra, Leading Fireman, Odisha.
Home Guard & Civil Defence:

Rajendra Kumar Jena, Home Guard Volunteer, Odisha.
Correctional Service:

Ghanashyam Paik, Chief Warder, Odisha.
President’s Medal for Gallantry (PMG) and Medal for Gallantry (GM) are awarded for Rare Conspicuous Acts of Gallantry and Conspicuous Acts of Gallantry, respectively, in saving life and property or preventing crime.



Comments are closed.