Latest Trending News

President Droupadi Murmu Presents Bharat Ratna to Distinguished Recipients

New Delhi: In a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan today, President Droupadi Murmu conferred the prestigious Bharat Ratna upon esteemed individuals who have left an indelible mark on the nation’s history and legacy.

For the first time, this year five prominent personalities have been conferred with the prestigious Bharat Ratna award posthumously.

P. V. Narasimha Rao, remembered for his pivotal role in India’s economic reforms as the 9th Prime Minister, was honored with the Bharat Ratna, which was received by his son, P.V. Prabhakar Rao, on his behalf.

Chaudhary Charan Singh, a champion of farmers’ rights and the 5th Prime Minister of India, was commemorated with the Bharat Ratna, accepted by his grandson, Jayant Chaudhary.

Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, known as the “Father of the Green Revolution in India,” his contributions to agriculture and food security earned him the Bharat Ratna which was received by his daughter, Dr. Nitya Rao.

Karpoori Thakuri, a stalwart of social justice and a former Chief Minister of Bihar, his dedication to the upliftment of the marginalized was recognized with the Bharat Ratna which was received by his son, Ramnath Thakur.

In addition to these luminaries, veteran politician LK Advani was also slated to receive the Bharat Ratna. However, he was unable to attend the ceremony due to illness, highlighting the bittersweet nature of the occasion.

Comments are closed.