Latest Trending News

Phil Salt’s Blistering 89 Leads Kolkata Knight Riders to Victory Over Lucknow Super Giants

Kolkata: In a spectacular display of power-hitting, opener Phil Salt propelled Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to a comprehensive eight-wicket victory over Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) at the iconic Eden Gardens stadium in Kolkata.

After a stellar bowling performance by Mitchell Starc, who claimed three crucial wickets for KKR, restricting LSG to a below-par total of 161/7, Salt took charge of the chase with a scintillating unbeaten knock of 89 runs off just 47 balls. His innings, studded with 14 fours and three sixes, helped KKR achieve the target with 26 balls to spare.

Salt received valuable support from KKR captain Shreyas Iyer, who contributed a steady 38* off 38 balls, as the duo stitched together a match-winning partnership of 120 runs for the third wicket.

Chasing 162 for victory, KKR got off to a flying start, courtesy of some aggressive batting by Salt and Sunil Narine. Despite Narine’s early dismissal, Salt continued his onslaught on the LSG bowlers, especially targeting Mohsin Khan, whom he dispatched for a hat-trick of boundaries.

Though LSG’s Mohsin Khan and Shamar Joseph posed some challenges for Iyer, Salt remained unfazed, maintaining his attacking approach and reaching his fifty in just 26 balls.

As the innings progressed, Salt showcased his prowess by capitalizing on the loose deliveries, finding the boundaries at regular intervals. His aggressive stroke play and calculated risks ensured that KKR remained in control of the chase throughout.

In the end, Salt fittingly finished off the match in style, pulling Ravi Bishnoi for a boundary to seal KKR’s victory and make April 14, 2024, a memorable Bengali New Year celebration for their fans.

With this win, KKR solidified their position in the points table, moving to eight points and maintaining their second-place position.

Brief Scores:
Lucknow Super Giants: 161/7 in 20 overs (Nicholas Pooran 45, KL Rahul; Mitchell Starc 3-28, Andre Russell 1-16)
Kolkata Knight Riders: 162/2 in 15.4 overs (Phil Salt 89*, Shreyas Iyer 38*; Mohsin Khan 2-29)
Result: Kolkata Knight Riders won by eight wickets.

Comments are closed.