Latest Trending News

Peaceful Conclusion of Phase 4 Voting in Jammu and Kashmir Elections

Jammu and Kashmir: The fourth phase of voting for the General Elections to the 18th Lok Sabha in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir concluded peacefully today, with a notable voter turnout of 36.58% as of 8 PM. The voting took place across the districts of Srinagar, Ganderbal, Pulwama, Budgam, and partly in Shopian Districts, encompassing a total of 2,135 polling stations.

Enthusiastic voters in Srinagar, Budgam, Ganderbal, Pulwama, and Shopian displayed remarkable participation in the electoral process, reflecting their faith and enthusiasm in democracy. Notably, this was the first general election held in the valley after the abrogation of Article 370 and the enactment of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019. The number of candidates contesting in this election has doubled to 24 compared to 12 in the 2019 general election.

The polling personnel, including security forces, worked tirelessly to create a conducive atmosphere at the polling stations, ensuring peace and festivity prevailed. The gross voter turnout in past elections highlights the increasing participation of voters in the region over the years.

Year Voter Turnout (%)
2019 14.43%
2014 25.86%
2009 25.55%
2004 18.57%
1999 11.93%
1998 30.06%
1996 40.94%

More than 8,000 polling staff were deployed to serve the over 17.47 lakh electorate. Command-and-Control centers have been operational round the clock since the announcement of the General Elections 2024, ensuring free, fair, and inducement-free elections. Basic facilities such as water, electricity, toilets, ramps, and waiting rooms were provided at every polling station, along with wheelchairs and volunteers for assistance. Inclusivity was emphasized with polling stations managed by women, specially-abled individuals, and youths, including 21 green and eco-friendly polling stations.

The Election Commission enabled Kashmiri migrant voters residing in relief camps in Delhi, Jammu, and Udhampur to participate in the electoral process. Special Polling Stations were set up at Jammu, Udhampur, and Delhi, allowing them to vote in person or via postal ballot.

Comments are closed.