Latest Trending News

Over 1200 Candidates to Contest Phase 2 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024

New Delhi: For the second phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, a total of 1206 candidates from 12 States/UTs, along with 4 candidates from the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, are set to contest for 88 Parliamentary Constituencies (PCs).

The Election Commission announced that a total of 2633 nominations were filed across the aforementioned regions, with 1428 nominations deemed valid after scrutiny.

The deadline for filing nominations for phase 2 in all 12 States/UTs was April 4, 2024, with the last date for withdrawal of candidature being April 8, 2024. Among the states participating in phase 2, Kerala leads with 500 nominations from 20 PCs, closely followed by Karnataka with 491 nominations from 14 PCs. On the other hand, Tripura received the minimum number of nominations, with 14 filed for a single PC.

The constituency with the highest number of nominations is the 16-Nanded Parliamentary Constituency in Maharashtra, which received 92 nominations.

Additionally, it was noted that 15 Assembly Constituencies (ACs) in the Outer Manipur PC will go to polls on April 19, 2024 (Phase 1), while 13 ACs will go to polls on April 26, 2024 (Phase 2). The Gazette notification issued on April 5, 2024, confirmed 4 contesting candidates from the Outer Manipur PC.

Comments are closed.