Latest Trending News

Olympics-bound Preeti shines as seven U-22 boxers win gold medals at Asian U-22 & Youth Boxing

Astana (Kazakhstan): Seven Indian U-22 boxers, including Olympics-bound boxer Preeti, clinched gold medals as the Indian contingent concluded their highly successful campaign with an impressive 43 medals at the ASBC Asian U-22 & Youth Boxing Championships 2024 here on Tuesday.

The Indian boxers secured 12 gold, 14 silver and 17 bronze medals to finish with the second-highest medal count only behind the hosts Kazakhstan who have won 48 medals.

Vishvanath Suresh began the day’s proceedings for India in the 48kg category as the reigning youth world champion didn’t waste much time and straightaway got into the action with his sharp punches and outperformed Kazakhstan’s Karap Yernar 5-0 to win the country’s first gold medal in the U-22 category.

The next in action was Nikhil (57kg), who defeated Sabyr Yerbolat of Kazakhstan with a referee stop the contest (RSC) win in the third round.

Akash Gorkha (60kg) continued his dream run in the tournament to secure a 4-1 win over Kazakhstan’s Ruslan Kuzeubayev in what was India’s third gold medal in the men’s category.

In the women’s category, Olympics-bound boxer Preeti (54kg) made a remarkable comeback after going down 0-5 in the first round to register a 3-0 win in the final against Kazakhstan’s Bazarova Elina.

Meanwhile, Poonam Poonia (57kg) and Prachi (63kg) defeated Kazakhstan’s Sakysh Anel and Anar Tursynbek respectively with an identical 4-1 scoreline.

Later, Muskan (75kg) fought a tough battle against Uzbekistan’s Zokirova Aziza but ended up winning the bout with a 3-2 split decision verdict to give India its seventh U-22 gold medal.

Preet Malik (67kg), Guddi (48kg), Tamanna (50kg), Saneh (70kg) and Alfiya Pathan (81kg) finished their campaigns with silver medals after going down in their respective finals.

The Indian U-22 team finished with 21 medals including seven gold, five silver and nine bronze medals.

Youth Medallists:

Gold winners:

Men: Brijesh Tamta (48kg), Aryan Hooda (51kg), Yashwardhan Singh (63.5kg)

Women: Laxmi (50kg), Nisha (52kg)

Silver winners:

Men: Sagar Jakhar (60kg), Priyanshu (71kg), Rahul Kundu (75kg), Aryan (92kg)

Women: Tamanna (54kg), Nikita Chand (60kg), Shrushti Sathe (63kg), Rudrika (75kg), Khushi Pooniya (81kg)

Bronze winners:

Men: Sumit (67kg), Sahil (80kg), Lakshay Rathi (92+kg)

Women: Annu (48kg), Yatri Patel (57kg), Parthavi Grewal (66kg), Akansha Phalaswal (70kg), Nirjhara Bana (+81kg)

U-22 Medallists:

Gold winners:

Men: Vishvanath Suresh (48kg), Nikhil (57kg), Akash Gorkha (60kg)

Women: Preeti (54kg), Poonam Poonia (57kg), Prachi (63kg), Muskan (75kg),

Silver winners:

Men: Preet Malik (67kg)

Women: Guddi (48kg), Tamanna (50kg), Saneh (70kg), Alfiya Pathan (81kg)

Bronze winners:

Men: M. Jadumani Singh (51kg), Ajay Kumar (63.5kg), Ankush (71kg), Dhruv Singh (80kg), Jugnoo (86kg), Yuvraj (92kg)

Women: Devika (52kg), Kajal (66kg), Ritika (+81kg).



Comments are closed.