Latest Trending News

Odisha Triumphs in National Rugby 15s Championship, Odisha RFC Clinches Victory

Bhubaneshwar: Odisha RFC continued its winning streak, securing a resounding victory against Delhi Hurricanes at the National Rugby 15s Championship (Division 1) held at KIIT University, Bhubaneshwar, Odisha. The final scoreline stood at 69-5, marking a dominant performance by the local heroes.

The Odisha RFC team featured prominent players, including Hupi Majhi, Dumuni Marndi, Tarulata Naik, and Nirmalya Rout, all of whom are integral parts of the Indian National Rugby Team.

Commencing the tournament as the top seed, Odisha RFC faced stiff competition from six other participating teams, featuring key players from across the country, including Priya Bansal, Vahbiz Bharucha, Shikha Yadav, Gomti, Bhumika Shukla, Sandhya Rai, Lachmi Oraon, and Ujjwala Ghuge.

Rahul Bose, President of Rugby India, extended congratulations to both the women’s team from Odisha RFC and the Delhi Hurricanes for their outstanding performance. He emphasized the significance of the National Rugby 15s Championship in providing a platform for emerging players to showcase their talent and potentially represent the Indian National team.

“We are confident that the sport shall continue to grow even further,” said Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Founder of KIIT University, expressing gratitude to the Government of Odisha and KIIT University for their unwavering support.

The event served as a crucial opportunity for scouting upcoming players for the 15s format, laying the foundation for the growth and development of Rugby in India.



Star Player: Hupi Majhi (2 tries)

Finals: Odisha RFC – 69, Delhi Hurricanes – 5

Bronze Medal: Future Hope Harlequins – 37, RAM Marathas – 12


Comments are closed.