Latest Trending News

Odisha Records 73.97 % Voter Turnout in First Phase of Polling

Bhubaneswar: The first phase of polling in Odisha concluded on Monday with robust voter participation across 28 assembly seats, including key Lok Sabha constituencies of Kalahandi, Koraput, Nabarangpur, and Berhampur. Providing an update on the electoral exercise, Nikunja Bihari Dhal, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha, announced a voter turnout of 73.97%, signaling a significant engagement of citizens in the democratic process.

CEO Dhal clarified that the reported figure is an approximation, as data from some polling stations is still being processed. Additionally, the trend excludes data from postal ballot voting, with final statistics for each polling station to be shared in Form 17C with all polling agents.

In Kotia, Koraput, where voter enthusiasm was palpable, polling stations witnessed substantial participation. Notably, nine booths in Kotia recorded a turnout of 53%, while Gumelpadar and Talakanki registered high turnouts of 74% and 86%, respectively. A noteworthy development occurred in Swabhiman Anchal of Malkangiri, where voters cast their ballots at a booth in their village, Jantapai, marking a departure from the previous practice of voting at a booth inside a BSF camp.

Breaking down the voter turnout for Lok Sabha constituencies, CEO Dhal revealed figures of 75.71% in Kalahandi, 80.22% in Nabarangpur, 76.98% in Koraput, and 63.34% in Berhampur.

Highlighting the turnout in assembly constituencies, the data reflected a spectrum ranging from 54.14% in Berhampur to 85.61% in Nabarangpur, showcasing varying levels of civic engagement across regions.

Comments are closed.