Latest Trending News

Odisha Hikes Remuneration of Mayor, deputy mayor and other Urban Elected Representatives

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has given a nod to a significant increase in the remuneration and allowances for elected representatives in urban local bodies across the state. The decision comes in response to the recommendations made by the Fifth State Finance Commission and amendments in the Odisha Municipal Corporation Rules-2004 and Odisha Municipal Rules-1953.

The remuneration and allowances for mayors, deputy mayors, chairmen, vice-chairmen, corporators, and councilors serving in five metropolitan corporations, 48 municipal councils, and 68 notified area councils (NACs) will witness a substantial hike.

Previously, mayors of metropolitan corporations were receiving a bonus of Rs 8,000, which has now been revised to Rs 50,000 per month. The monthly remuneration for deputy mayors has been increased from Rs 5,000 to Rs 20,000. Chairmen of municipal councils will now receive a salary hike from Rs 1,500 to Rs 15,000, while vice-chairmen’s salary has been revised from Rs 1,200 to Rs 10,000. Additionally, the monthly gratuity for chairmen and vice-chairmen will increase from Rs 1,000 to Rs 10,000 and Rs 800 to Rs 7,500, respectively.

Metropolitan corporators, who were earlier receiving Rs 7,000 per meeting, will now get Rs 2,000. Allowances for councilors from various municipal councils and NACs have been raised from Rs 1,500 to Rs 500. Members of the Standing Committee of the Metropolitan Corporation will be entitled to a daily allowance of Rs 2,000 during meetings.

In a noteworthy move, Chief Minister Patnaik also introduced ex-gratia assistance for elected representatives in urban areas. The assistance amounts to Rs 2 lakh in the event of death, Rs 2 lakh for total disability, and Rs 1 lakh for partial disability. The state government will bear an annual expenditure of Rs 4 crore 76 lakh 52 thousand for this initiative.

Currently, 1696 councilors and 244 corporators are serving in various municipalities and NACs across the state. This decision is aimed at recognizing and enhancing the efforts of these elected representatives in contributing to the development of urban areas in Odisha.

Comments are closed.