Latest Trending News

Naveen Patnaik Announces Cash Awards for Medal Winners in Tokyo Olympics from Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday announced a cash award for the Olympic medal winners from Odisha at the Tokyo Olympics. 

As per the announcement, Rs 6 crore would be awarded to the gold medalist, Rs 4 crore to the silver medalist and Rs 2.5 crore to the bronze medalist.

This apart an award of Rs 15 lakh will be given to each athlete from the state qualified for the Olympics.

Interacting with the qualified athletes form the state, Patnaik said that the Olympics are the best dream of life for every athlete. He congratulated Olympians Duti Chand, Pramod Bhagat, Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas for their achievement.

“You have become a role model for the youth of Odisha. You are a source of pride for your family and for all of us. I hope you would win medals through hard work, determination and discipline,” he said.

Comments are closed.