Latest Trending News
Mumbai Clinches 42nd Ranji Trophy Crown; Wins Title after Eight Seasons; Defeats Vidarbha by 169 Runs

Mumbai Clinches 42nd Ranji Trophy Crown; Wins Title after Eight Seasons; Defeats Vidarbha by 169 Runs

Mumbai: Mumbai, the perennial giants of Ranji Trophy cricket, showcased their dominance once again by clinching the prestigious title after an eight-year wait. In a thrilling final clash at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai secured a resounding 169-run victory over Vidarbha.

The final day of the encounter saw a valiant effort from Vidarbha’s skipper, Akshay Wadkar, who notched a commendable century, supported by Harsh Dubey’s gritty 65. The morning session of the final day belonged to Vidarbha, as Wadkar and Dubey steadfastly steered their team forward. However, Mumbai’s relentless bowling attack, led by Tanush Kotian and Tushar Deshpande, eventually broke through Vidarbha’s resistance, paving the way for Mumbai’s triumph.

Reflecting on the match, Mumbai’s first-innings performance emerged as a decisive factor. Despite a shaky start, Mumbai’s lower order, spearheaded by Shardul Thakur, staged a remarkable comeback, ensuring a respectable total on the board.

Musheer Khan’s stellar century, supported by contributions from Shreyas Iyer and skipper Ajinkya Rahane, further consolidated Mumbai’s position in the second innings. Vidarbha’s bowlers struggled to contain Mumbai’s relentless onslaught, with only Dubey managing to pose a consistent threat.

Mumbai’s triumph underscores their unparalleled legacy in domestic cricket, reaffirming their status as Ranji Trophy stalwarts. Their clinical performance throughout the tournament and in the final epitomizes the team’s resilience and unwavering determination.

With this victory, Mumbai reclaims its status as the undisputed champions of Ranji Trophy cricket, marking a triumphant return to the winner’s circle after an extended hiatus. With the Ranji trophy victory Mumbai veteran Dhawal Kulkarni bids adieu to the first class cricket.

Brief Scores:
Mumbai: 224 and 418
Vidarbha: 105 and 368

Player of the Match: Musheer Khan

Player of the Series: Tanush Kotian

Comments are closed.