Latest Trending News
The News Hashtag - 1

Mohan Majhi Will be the New Chief Minister of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has chosen Mohan Majhi, the MLA representing Keonjhar Sadar Assembly Constituency, as the new Chief Minister of Odisha.

The decision was reached unanimously during a BJP legislature party meeting held at the party’s State headquarters in Bhubaneswar, in the presence of Union Minister Rajnath Singh and senior leader Bhupendra Yadav.

The announcement of Majhi’s appointment was made by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh following the conclusion of the BJP Legislature party meeting.

Majhi, a seasoned politician with four consecutive terms as MLA from Keonjhar, holds prominence as a key tribal figure within the BJP. At 53 years old, he is poised to succeed Naveen Patnaik as the 15th Chief Minister of the state.

Notably, Majhi served as the Opposition chief whip in the Odisha Assembly during the tenure of the Naveen Patnaik-led government from 2019 to 2024.

In the recent assembly elections, Majhi secured victory in the Keonjhar constituency, triumphing over BJD’s Mina Majhi by a significant margin of over 11,000 votes.

Furthermore, the meeting also designated KV Singh Deo, the MLA from Patnagarh, and Pravati Parida, the MLA from Nimapara, as the Deputy Chief Ministers of the State. Singh Deo, a six-time MLA from Patnagarh, brings extensive legislative experience, while Pravati Parida, a newcomer to the assembly, offers fresh perspectives.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.