Latest Trending News

India Clinches Second T20 World Cup Title with Thrilling Win Over South Africa

Bridgetown (Barbados): In a nail-biting finale at the Kensington Oval, India secured their second Men’s T20 World Cup title, defeating South Africa by seven runs. Hardik Pandya’s stellar performance with the ball (3-20) and Jasprit Bumrah’s disciplined bowling (2-18) were crucial in restricting South Africa to 169/8, defending India’s total of 176/7.

After 13 years India won a world cup title, and after 17 years the second T20 World Cup.

Virat Kohli, ending his lean run, anchored the Indian innings with a 59-ball 76, supported by Axar Patel’s valuable 47. Despite a strong chase led by Heinrich Klaasen’s 52 and Quinton de Kock’s 39, South Africa fell short, needing 30 runs off the last 30 balls. Pandya’s dismissal of Klaasen turned the tide, allowing India to end their 11-year global trophy drought.

Brief Scores:
India 176/7 (Virat Kohli 76, Axar Patel 47; Keshav Maharaj 2-23, Anrich Nortje 2-26)
South Africa 169/8 (Heinrich Klaasen 52, Quinton de Kock 39; Hardik Pandya 3-20, Jasprit Bumrah 2-18)

Comments are closed.