Latest Trending News

Election Commission Prepares for Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Polls

New Delhi: With Phase 6 of the Lok Sabha polls set to kick off tomorrow, the Election Commission of India (ECI) is leaving no stone unturned to ensure a smooth and efficient electoral process. Polling will take place across 58 Parliamentary Constituencies (PCs) spanning 8 States and Union Territories, marking a crucial juncture in India’s democratic exercise.

In this phase, voters from Haryana and the National Capital Territory of Delhi will exercise their franchise, alongside voters from Bihar, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal. Simultaneously, polling for 42 Assembly Constituencies in the Odisha State Legislative Assembly is also slated to occur.

The ECI has issued directives to the concerned Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) and state machineries to make necessary arrangements to mitigate the adverse impact of hot weather conditions or rainfall, wherever predicted. Polling stations have been equipped with essential amenities such as shade, drinking water, ramps, and toilets to ensure a comfortable and secure environment for voters. Polling parties have been dispatched to their respective stations with voting machines and necessary materials.

The Commission has urged voters to turn out in large numbers and exercise their franchise responsibly and proudly. In particular, urban centers like Delhi, Gurgaon, and Faridabad are being reminded of their civic duty to break the trend of urban apathy and participate actively in the electoral process.

Phase 6 marks the penultimate phase of the Lok Sabha elections, with the final phase scheduled for June 1st. Counting of votes for all phases is slated to take place on June 4th.

Comments are closed.