Latest Trending News
President Appoints Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu as New Election Commissioners

Election Commission Directs Transfer of IAS and IPS Officers in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has issued directives to the Chief Secretary of Odisha for the immediate transfer of two IAS and six IPS officers from their current election-related posts to non-election-related positions. The transfers come in light of the upcoming elections and are aimed at ensuring a smooth and impartial electoral process.

In a letter addressed to the Odisha Chief Secretary, ECI Secretary Rakesh Kumar listed the officials to be transferred and emphasized the urgency of the action. The named officers include Vineet Bhardwaj and Parul Patawari, serving as District Magistrates and District Electoral Officers in Cuttack and Jagatsinghpur respectively. Additionally, four Superintendents of Police (SP) – Sudhansu Sekhar Mishra, Saravana Vivek M, Jugal Kishore Banoth, and Mitrabhanu Mahapatra – from various districts, along with Dr. Kanwar Vishal Singh, Deputy Commissioner of Police in Cuttack, and Ashish Kumar Singh, Inspector General of Police Central, are also slated for transfer.

The ECI’s directive underscores its commitment to maintaining the integrity and impartiality of the electoral process by ensuring that key administrative and law enforcement officials are stationed in non-election-related roles. By transferring these officers to other positions, the ECI aims to prevent any potential conflicts of interest or undue influence during the electoral process.

As per the letter, the Chief Secretary of Odisha has been instructed to promptly implement the transfers and provide three eligible officers as replacements for each of the vacated positions. Furthermore, the Chief Secretary is required to submit a compliance report to the ECI by 5:00 PM on the same day, demonstrating adherence to the directives issued.

Comments are closed.