Latest Trending News

Elaborate Security Arrangements in Place for 1st Phase of Elections in Odisha: DGP Sarangi

Bhubaneswar: With the first phase of simultaneous elections in Odisha scheduled for tomorrow, Director General of Police (DGP) Arun Kumar Sarangi assured the public of comprehensive security measures to ensure a smooth, peaceful, and fair electoral process.

In a press conference held today, DGP Sarangi outlined the preparedness of the police force, emphasizing the delivery of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines, and polling parties to all polling stations across the constituencies where voting will take place.

A robust security deployment comprising 17,000 platoon police forces, 104 companies of Paramilitary Forces, 66 platoons of Special Armed Police (SAP), and 600 mobile squads has been arranged for the first phase of elections covering 4 Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly segments in Odisha.

Sarangi detailed the proactive monitoring mechanisms in place, including the deployment of single mobile parties tasked with verifying security arrangements at polling booths. These mobile parties will be centrally controlled from district control rooms using GPS tracking systems to ensure swift response to any security concerns.

Stringent measures have been implemented at state borders, with 51 inter-state border check posts equipped with CCTV cameras and connected to district control rooms. Additionally, 50 inter-district check posts have been established to monitor vehicular movements effectively.

Security has been further intensified in Maoist-affected areas to ensure the safety and security of voters and polling personnel.

Tomorrow’s polls will witness more than 62 lakh voters casting their votes across 7,303 polling centers in four Lok Sabha constituencies – Berhampur, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, and Koraput – along with 28 Assembly constituencies under their purview. A total of 37 candidates are vying for the Lok Sabha seats, while 243 candidates are contesting in the Assembly constituencies.

Comments are closed.