Latest Trending News

CM Naveen Patnaik honours athletes with Biju Patnaik Sports award

Bhubaneswar: On the commemoration of National Sports Day, the Odisha government honoured sports personalities from various fields for their remarkable contributions in the realm of sports and games.

In an award ceremony, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik conferred the coveted Biju Patnaik Sports Award upon Cyclist Swasti Singh, recognizing her exceptional achievements in the world of sports.

Swasti Singh’s dedication and remarkable accomplishments in cycling have brought glory for the state. Her outstanding talent was acknowledged with the Biju Patnaik Sports Award for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games. As a token of appreciation and encouragement, the Chief Minister presented her with a cash award of Rs. 2.00 lakhs.

Hockey Coach Peter Tirkey and Football Coach Rajendra Prasad Singh received the Lifetime Achievement Award, for their unwavering dedication and mentorship in shaping the future of budding sportspersons. Each coach was honored with a cash award of Rs. 3 Lakhs in recognition of their illustrious careers.

The ceremony also acknowledged the significant role played by coaches and sports journalists. Coach Pradeep Kumar Sarangi and Sports Journalist Ajay Kumar Das were honored with the Biju Patnaik Sports Award for Excellence in Coaching and Biju Patnaik Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism, respectively. Their invaluable contributions have played a pivotal role in shaping the sports landscape of Odisha. Each awardee received a cash prize of Rs. 1 Lakh from the Chief Minister.

Odisha Police was presented with the Biju Patnaik Award for Sports Promotion for their organizational efforts in promoting sports and providing employment opportunities for sportspersons. DG of Police Sunil Bansal and ADG R K Sharma received the award from the Chief Minister.

Para badminton player Deep Ranjan Bisoyee was honored as the Best Para Sportsperson of the year and received a cash award of Rs. 1 Lakh. Sabita Toppo, a promising athlete with immense potential, was celebrated as the Best Upcoming Athlete and received a Rs. 1 Lakh award.

The pivotal role played by technical officials was also highlighted during the event. Brigadier Bibhu Bhushan Nayak was felicitated with a Rs. 1 Lakh award in recognition of his contribution to the sporting ecosystem.

The Bravery Awards were conferred posthumously to Late Saroj Kumar Das and Late Sudarshan Swain, individuals who displayed exceptional courage and valor in the face of adversity, serving as inspiring examples of bravery for our society.

This apart 388 athletes were felicitated received cash awards totaling ₹2,02,30,000 for their outstanding achievements in various sports disciplines.

Comments are closed.