Latest Trending News

Centre Decides to Repeal the Three Farm Laws

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday announced that his government would repeal the three farm laws which have been opposed by the farmers.

Addressing the country on the occasion of Gurupurab, the birth anniversary of the first Sikh Guru, Guru Nanak, he said, “Despite our best efforts to support our farmers, especially the small farmers, we couldn’t convince a section of farmers. I apologise to our fellow citizens. The Union government has decided to repeal all three farm laws.” 

He informed that the process to repeal the laws would start in the upcoming Parliament session by the end of this month.

The three Bills, Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020; Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020; and Essential Commodities (Amendment) Bill 2020 were passed by the Parliament in September 2020.

Since the bill was passed, thousands of farmers have been protesting at the national capital’s borders since last year demanding to rollback the laws.

He also announced that a new committee would be formed to promote Zero Budget Natural Farming, encourage a scientific shift in the crop pattern, make minimum support price more beneficial for farmers, and make future decisions for the benefit of farmers.

The soon to be formed committee will comprise officials from the Centre and states, farmers and agricultural experts.

Comments are closed.