Latest Trending News

BJP Unveils First List of Candidates for Odisha Lok Sabha Polls, Dharmendra Pradhan to Contest from Sambalpur

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has made a significant move ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha polls in Odisha by announcing its first list of candidates, comprising 18 nominees for various parliamentary constituencies in the state.

In a notable decision, the BJP has fielded Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan from the Sambalpur seat, underlining its intent to field prominent leaders in key constituencies. Additionally, former Union Minister Jual Oram has been nominated to contest from the Sundargarh constituency, signaling the party’s strategic choices in the electoral fray.

Among other prominent candidates, BJP leader Pradeep Purohit will vie for victory from the Bargarh seat, while former Union Minister Pratap Sarangi has been tasked with seeking reelection from the Balasore constituency.

Furthermore, BJP national vice-president Baijayant Panda is set to contest from Kendrapara, with party’s national spokesperson Sambit Patra securing the ticket from the prestigious Puri seat.

The BJP’s decision to field Gopalpur MLA Pradeep Panigrahy, who recently joined the party, from the Berhampur constituency underscores its efforts to expand its electoral base and accommodate new entrants into the fold.

Ananta Nayak has been nominated from Keonjhar, Naba Charan Majhi from Mayurbhanj, Avimanyu Sethi from Bhadrak, and Rudra Narayan Pany from Dhenkanal, among others.

The BJP has also maintained continuity by re-nominating Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo from Balangir and fielding Malvika Keshari Deo from the Kalahandi seat.

Aparajita Sarangi, the incumbent MP, will seek reelection from the Bhubaneswar seat, while former MP Bibhu Prasad Tarai has been given the ticket from Jagatsinghpur. Anita Subhadarshini will represent the BJP in the Aska constituency. Balabhadra Majhi and Kaleram Majhi have been selected as BJP candidates for the Nabarangpur and Koraput seats respectively.

Comments are closed.