Latest Trending News

Bengal and Haryana Triumph in National Women’s Hockey League 2024

Ranchi: Day 7 of the National Women’s Hockey League 2024 (Phase 1) witnessed thrilling clashes as Bengal and Haryana emerged victorious in their respective matches at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Astroturf Hockey Stadium on Tuesday.

In the opening clash of the day, Bengal showcased exceptional skills to secure a narrow 2-1 victory over Odisha. Bengal’s relentless attacking display and precise passing kept Odisha on their toes throughout the game.

Bengal’s dominance translated into goals in the second quarter when Shanti Horo (23’) displayed remarkable individual skill, evading Odisha’s defense to score a powerful goal. In the second half, Horo (39’) struck again, capitalizing on an opportunity in the D area to extend Bengal’s lead. Despite a late goal from Dipi Monika Toppo (51’) for Odisha, Bengal held on to claim victory.

In the day’s second encounter, Haryana secured a hard-fought 2-1 win over Maharashtra. Haryana took control early in the game, with Manju Chorsiya (12’) scoring from open play to give them the lead. Pooja (37’) extended Haryana’s advantage with a well-executed penalty corner.

Despite Maharashtra’s efforts, including multiple penalty corner opportunities, they managed to convert only one chance, with Sukanya Dhaware (55’) scoring a late field goal. However, it wasn’t enough to prevent Haryana from sealing the win.

With the action-packed day continuing, Madhya Pradesh is set to face Mizoram, while Jharkhand will take on Hockey in the upcoming matches, promising more excitement and competitive hockey.

Comments are closed.