Latest Trending News

Assembly Elections 2021: Who is forming government, where?

In the recently concluded assembly elections, Mamata Banerjee-led All India Trinamul Congress (AITMC) in West Bengal, Pinarayi Vijayan-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) in Kerala and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Assam retained power in their respective states while Tamil Nadu saw Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and its allies coming to power after 10 years. The NDA is also going to form the government in Puducherry, the union territory.

While Trinamul Congress (TMC) won 213 seats in the election for 292 seats in West Bengal,  its major competitor BJP won 77 seats.

However, despite TMC winning in majority its leader Mamata Banerjee lost the election from Nandigram to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari. Once hailed closure to Banerjee, Adhikari had joined BJP from TMC just before the election. Mamata alleges mischief in the result and plans to approach the Court for recounting of votes in Nandigram.

The CPI(M)-led Left Front and the Congress party, which ruled the state for nearly six decades could not open their account in this election.

In the Kerala Assembly Election, history has been created as the present government will continue for the second term. Led by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, the Left Democratic Front (LDF) won in 97 constituencies in the election for the 140-seat assembly.

The opposition United Democratic Front (UDF) won 47 seats, while Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to open its account.

In Tamil Nadu, DMK returned to power after ten years. M K Stalin-led DMK has registered an excellent win against AIADMK and its allies. DMK and its allies including Congress, have won 159 seats in the  234-seat house while AIADMK and its alliance partners including BJP got 75 seats. With this win Stalin is all set to swear in as the chief minister of Tamil Nadu for the first time.

Assam election brought some good news for National Democratic Alliance (NDA) or ‘Mitrajot’ (Alliance of Friends), as they are all set to form government in Assam for the second consecutive time. The alliance won 75 seats. While the Congress-led ‘Mahajot’ (Grand Alliance) have won 50 seats in the 126-member assembly.

In the Puducherry election, the NDA won 16 seats. Puducherry being a Union Territory has 33 seats of which 3 are nominated by center while election in 30 seats were conducted.

Comments are closed.