Latest Trending News

AS Rajeev Appointed Vigilance Commissioner by the President of India

New Delhi: AS Rajeev has been appointed as Vigilance Commissioner by the President of India, as per a warrant dated February 9, 2024, and in accordance with the powers vested under Section 4(1) of the Central Vigilance Commission Act, 2003. The swearing-in ceremony took place on March 11, 2024, where AS Rajeev made and subscribed to the oath before the Central Vigilance Commissioner, who was authorized by the President of India.

In the presence of Arvinda Kumar, Vigilance Commissioner, Shri AS Rajeev pledged to uphold the principles of vigilance and integrity in his role. With a career spanning over 38 years in various prominent banks, including Syndicate Bank, Indian Bank, Vijaya Bank, and Bank of Maharashtra, Rajeev brings a wealth of experience to his new position.

Notably, during his tenure as the Executive Director in Indian Bank, the institution emerged as one of India’s strongest and most profitable banks, achieving the lowest non-performing assets and the highest capital adequacy ratio. Serving as the Managing Director & CEO of Bank of Maharashtra for the past five years, Rajeev successfully steered the bank out of the RBI’s Prompt Corrective Action and elevated it to a robust mid-sized bank.

AS Rajeev’s leadership played a crucial role in positioning Bank of Maharashtra as a top-performing Public Sector Bank (PSB) in the country, excelling in major business and profitability parameters with outstanding asset quality. Additionally, he has contributed to various financial institutions, serving as Nominee Director in EXIM Bank, New India Assurance Co Ltd, and National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI). His achievements also include being Vice Chairman of the Indian Banks Association and a Member of the Core Group constituted by RBI for the implementation of Indian Accounting Standards.

The swearing-in ceremony witnessed the presence of senior officials from the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), Enforcement Directorate (ED), and the Central Vigilance Commission. As per the Central Vigilance Commission Act, 2003, the tenure of the Vigilance Commissioner is four years or until the incumbent reaches the age of 65 years.

Comments are closed.