Latest Trending News

Arunachal Pradesh Gears Up for Simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly Elections

Itanagar: The energetic campaign trail, spanning over a month, for the simultaneous Lok Sabha and assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh concluded on Wednesday afternoon, setting the stage for the state’s crucial electoral battle on April 19.

Simultaneous polls for the two Lok Sabha seats – Arunachal West and Arunachal East Parliamentary constituencies — along with 50 assembly seats are scheduled for April 19.

Notably, BJP candidates in 10 seats, including Chief Minister Pema Khandu (Mukto seat) and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein (Chowkham seat), have emerged victorious unopposed.

A total of 8,92,694 voters, including 4,54,256 women, are poised to determine the fate of 133 candidates contesting for the 50 assembly seats and 14 candidates vying for the two Lok Sabha seats.

The electoral landscape features candidates from various parties, with 50 fielded by the ruling BJP, 19 by the opposition Congress, and 14 by the Nationalist Congress Party (Ajit Pawar). Additionally, 20 candidates represent the National People’s Party (NPP), 11 from the People’s Party of Arunachal, and others from local parties and independents.

The main electoral battle in the Lok Sabha seats is anticipated between Union Minister Kiren Rijiju and state Congress president Nabam Tuki for the Arunachal West seat. Meanwhile, the Arunachal East seat is expected to witness a contest between BJP’s sitting MP Tapir Gao and the Congress’ Bosiram Siram, a former minister.

While the NPP led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma has fielded 20 candidates in the assembly elections, the party has extended its support to BJP’s Lok Sabha candidates in the state — Kiren Rijiju and Tapir Gao.

As the BJP maintains its stronghold in the state’s political landscape, concerns over anti-incumbency and Christian organizations’ open backing of Congress candidates have emerged as significant factors in the electoral equation.

The Union Home Ministry has deployed 80 companies (7,500 personnel) of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) to ensure the smooth conduct of elections and manage the law and order situation.

Counting of votes for the Assembly elections is scheduled for June 2, while the results of the Lok Sabha elections will be announced on June 4.

With the state poised for a crucial electoral showdown, a total of 11,130 polling officials have been deployed, along with 6,874 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) earmarked for the polls.

Comments are closed.