Latest Trending News
Tata Group Secures IPL Title Rights Until 2028 with Rs 500 Crore Commitment per Season (PC:-IPL)

Ahmedabad and Chennai to Host IPL 2024 Playoffs, BCCI Announces Schedule

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed the schedule for the IPL 2024 playoffs, with Ahmedabad and Chennai selected as the host cities for the crucial matches. The M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai is set to host the final on May 26, with Qualifier 2 also scheduled at the same venue on May 24.

Meanwhile, the Qualifier 1 and the Eliminator matches will take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 21 and 22, respectively. The choice of venues aligns with the tradition of selecting the home stadiums of the previous season’s finalists, with Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Gujarat Titans (GT) having contested the IPL 2023 final.

Chennai’s M.A. Chidambaram Stadium has previously hosted IPL finals in 2011 and 2012, while Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium served as the venue for the title clash in the 2022 and 2023 seasons.

The decision regarding the playoff venues comes after the BCCI initially released the schedule for the first 21 matches of IPL 2024 due to uncertainties surrounding the dates of the general elections. However, with the election dates confirmed from April 19 to June 1, the board has now finalized the venues for the playoffs.

Contrary to earlier speculations, the entire IPL 2024 tournament will be held in India, with no plans for relocation despite the overlapping election schedule.

The second phase of IPL 2024 will kick off with defending champions CSK facing Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in an evening clash at Chennai on April 8. Notable fixtures in the latter half of the tournament include a face-off between CSK and Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium on April 14, coinciding with Tamil New Year’s Day.

Additionally, CSK’s encounter with Royal Challengers Bangalore on May 18 at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium marks their final league match of the season.

Other venues hosting IPL matches include the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala and the Barsapara Cricket Ground in Guwahati, where home teams Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals will play their respective matches.

The playoffs are set to commence on May 21 after a brief break following the conclusion of the league stage. The Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi will also host IPL matches, with Delhi Capitals set to play their remaining home games in the capital after initially starting their season in Visakhapatnam.

Comments are closed.