Latest Trending News

889 Candidates Set to Contest in Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024

New Delhi: A total of 889 candidates from eight states and union territories (UTs) will be vying for seats in the upcoming Phase 6 of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024. This includes 20 candidates contesting in the adjourned poll for the 3-Anantnag-Rajouri Parliamentary Constituency (PC) in Jammu and Kashmir.

For the 57 PCs across the seven states and UTs involved in this phase, 1978 nominations were filed. Following the last date for filing nominations on May 6, 2024, and subsequent scrutiny, 900 nominations were declared valid. In the 3-Anantnag-Rajouri PC, a total of 28 nominations were filed in Phase 3, with 21 being validated.

Uttar Pradesh leads the way with the highest number of nominations in Phase 6, receiving 470 nomination forms for 14 Parliamentary Constituencies. Haryana follows with 370 nominations for its 10 PCs. Notably, the 8-Ranchi PC in Jharkhand recorded the maximum nominations with 70 forms filed, closely followed by the 2-North East Delhi PC in the National Capital Territory of Delhi, which saw 69 nominations.

On average, each PC in Phase 6 will see about 15 candidates contesting. This diverse pool of candidates reflects the robust democratic process underway, as individuals from various regions and backgrounds compete for representation in the Lok Sabha.

State/UT wise details for Phase 6 of General Election to Lok Sabha Election 2024:




Number of

PCs in sixth phase


forms received


candidates after scrutiny

After withdrawal,

final Contesting Candidates

Bihar 8 246 89 86
Haryana 10 370 239 223
Jammu and Kashmir* 1   20
Jharkhand 4 245 96 93
NCT OF Delhi 7 367 166 162
Odisha 6 130 65 64
Uttar Pradesh 14 470 164 162
West Bengal 8 150 81 79
Total 58 1978 900 889

Comments are closed.