Latest Trending News

President Murmu Dissolves 17th Lok Sabha

New Delhi: President Droupadi Murmu dissolved the 17th Lok Sabha on Wednesday following the advice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Cabinet, according to an official communiqué from Rashtrapati Bhavan. This decision comes as the term of the current Lok Sabha was set to end on June 16.

The Cabinet convened a meeting today and recommended the dissolution of the 17th Lok Sabha with immediate effect. “The President has accepted the advice of the Cabinet and signed the order dissolving the 17th Lok Sabha in exercise of the powers conferred upon her by Sub-clause (b) of Clause (2) of Article 85 of the Constitution,” the communiqué read.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Modi tendered his resignation to President Murmu, who accepted it and requested him to continue in his role until the new government assumes office.

The dissolution marks the conclusion of the 17th Lok Sabha, paving the way for the formation of a new government following the recent general elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), led by Prime Minister Modi, secured 240 seats, falling short of the majority mark but maintaining a strong position with the support of its allies in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Comments are closed.