Latest Trending News

Odisha Phase 1 Elections Witness 53% Voter Turnout

Bhubaneswar: The first phase of polling in Odisha’s four Parliamentary constituencies saw an enthusiastic voter turnout, with approximately 53% of voters casting their ballots by 3 pm on Monday.

In a press briefing, Chief Electoral Officer Nikunja Bihari Dhal revealed the turnout figures, indicating that Kalahandi constituency recorded the highest voter participation at 58%, followed by Nabarangpur with 56%, Koraput with 53%, and Berhampur with 45%.

Among the Assembly seats, Narla recorded the highest voting percentage at 61.65%, while Berhampur reported the lowest at 37.23%. Dhal highlighted that more than 60% polling was recorded in two Assembly seats of Narla and Jharigaon.

Despite some variations in turnout across constituencies, Dhal emphasized that Odisha recorded a higher voter turnout compared to other states in the first phase of polling.

The district-wise polling figures are as follows:

Kalahandi: 57.91%
Koraput: 53.27%
Gajapati: 45.29%
Ganjam: 44.39%
Malkangiri: 53.64%
Nabarangpur: 56.76%
Nuapada: 58.25%
Rayagada: 53.60%

Earlier, by 1 pm, a voter turnout of 39.30% was recorded across the four Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly constituencies, indicating a steady increase in participation throughout the day.

Comments are closed.