Latest Trending News

FIH Odisha Men’s Hockey World Cup draws announced, India in Pool D along with England, Spain and Wales

Bhubaneswar: The 16 qualified teams for the FIH Odisha Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 have been placed in four pools during a draw ceremony organised by International Hockey Federation at Convention Centre, Lok Seva Bhawan in Bhubaneswar.

Bhubaneswar and Rourkela are the two cities in Odisha are going to host the much awaited event will begin on January 13, 2023 and continue till January 29. Odisha the first state in the country to host the world cup for the second time. First was held in 2018.

India, the host team is in Pool D where it will compete with England, Spain and Wales.

India, Australia, Belgium and Netherlands were placed on the first row of their corresponding pools based on the FIH World Rankings as per June 1 2022.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced the pool of India at the event. “We are always proud to welcome the best hockey teams and players of the world for such an outstanding event. This time we are inviting the world to a brand new arena, the Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Rourkela. The new stadium is the testimony to our strong commitment towards hockey. Congratulations and best wishes to all teams,” he said.

Here are details:

Pool A: Australia, Argentina, France, South Africa.

Pool B: Belgium, Germany, Korea, Japan.

Pool C: Netherlands, New Zealand, Malaysia, Chile.

Pool D: India, England, Spain, Wales.

Comments are closed.