Latest Trending News

Election Commission Imposes Restrictions on Exit Polls till June 1

New Delhi: In view of the Lok Sabha elections and assembly polls, the Election Commission of India has announced restrictions on the conduct, publication, and dissemination of exit polls. The ban will be enforced from 7 am on April 19 until 6:30 pm on June 1, encompassing the crucial period surrounding the electoral processes.

A public notice issued by the Special Chief Electoral Officer of Delhi, Rajesh Kumar, emphasized the prohibition on exit polls, opinion polls, or any other poll survey results in both print and electronic media platforms during the specified timeframe. The notice, referring to the Representation of the People Act(R.P.Act), 1951, outlined the strict measures to ensure the integrity and fairness of the electoral process.

The schedule for the General Elections and State Legislative Assemblies (SLA) of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim, along with bye-elections in several states, was announced by the Commission on March 16. In adherence to the electoral laws, the Election Commission has mandated the prohibition of exit polls during this period to prevent any influence on voters’ decisions.

Additionally, the notice highlighted the prohibition of displaying election-related content, including the dissemination of opinion poll results, in electronic media platforms during the 48-hour period leading up to the conclusion of polling in the respective areas.

The Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be conducted in seven phases between April 19 and June 1, with the results slated to be announced on June 4.

Comments are closed.