Latest Trending News

904 Candidates to Contest Phase 7 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024

New Delhi: A total of 904 candidates from eight states and union territories are set to contest the elections in Phase 7 of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, scheduled for June 1, 2024. This phase will see polling across 57 parliamentary constituencies (PCs).

A substantial 2,105 nominations were filed for the 57 PCs in Phase 7, with the last date for filing being May 14, 2024. Following a thorough scrutiny process, 954 nominations were deemed valid, paving the way for 904 candidates to officially contest.

Punjab led with the highest number of nominations, receiving 598 forms for its 13 parliamentary constituencies. Uttar Pradesh followed closely with 495 nominations for its 13 PCs. The Jahanabad constituency in Bihar saw the most significant number of individual nominations, with 73 forms submitted. Ludhiana in Punjab was not far behind, with 70 nominations.

The average number of contesting candidates per parliamentary constituency in this phase stands at 16, indicating a robust and competitive electoral process.

The upcoming phase promises to be a critical juncture in the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, with multiple states and union territories participating. The diverse and extensive participation underscores the democratic fervor across the nation.

States and Union Territories in Phase 7: Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Jammu & Kashmir, Delhi

The Election Commission of India has ensured all preparations are in place to facilitate smooth and fair polling across the constituencies involved in Phase 7.

Comments are closed.