Surface Manual Observatories installed in all 30 districts in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Meteorological Centre, Bhubaneswar (IMD), and the Revenue and Disaster Management Department have taken the initiative of installing manual observatories at district headquarters across the state.

Seven observatories were installed at Nayagarh, Boudh, Chhatrapur, Paralakhemundi, Rayagada, Bhadrak and Jajpur during the year 2020-21.

Further, eight new Manual Observatory has been set up at Dhenkanal, Deogarh, Bargarh, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapada, Nuapada, Khordha and Nabarangpur in April 2022.

With the inclusion of these eight newly Surface Manual Observatories, Odisha now has a total of 38 Manual Observatories covering all the 30 districts of Odisha. Out of these 10 are fully operated by IMD and rest 28 numbers are operationalized in coordination with Odisha Government.

In addition to above IMD has two Doppler Weather Radar station at Paradeep and Gopalpur and six High Wind Speed Recorder (HWSR) at Gopalpur, Puri, Bhubaneswar, Paradeep, Chandbali and Balasore. These networks of observatories boost for Weather Information as well as weather forecasting for the entire state of Odisha.